National Pubwatch Conference Awards – 28/2/17

National Pubwatch handed out a special recognition award to Mark Baird, head of alcohol in society at Diageo, at its annual conference last week.


The award was to thank Baird for supporting National Pubwatch and its awards for the past five years.


National Pubwatch chairman Steve Baker said: “He really understands the issues around social responsibility and the pub and drinks trade. He informed us he will be leaving Diageo in April and we could not let him leave without us showing our appreciation.”


Baird said: “I was absolutely thrilled and genuinely surprised to receive my special recognition award at the National Pubwatch Conference.


“It means a lot to be recognised by an organisation I admire so much for the great work they do through an army of willing and very capable volunteers. I’m delighted that Diageo has committed to continue with its sponsorship of the National Pubwatch Award and wish Steve and the national committee all the very best for the future.”


Other awards were also handed out at the event including the National Pubwatch award of merit, which is given to people who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to their local scheme.


The winner this year was Marion Cooney, the evening economy manager for the Lincoln Business Improvement Group.


Marion and Lisa

Left to right: Marion Cooney, Chief Constable Thames Valley Police Francis Habgood, David Dadds (sponsor of Malcolm Eidmans Award) and Lisa Elder


The Malcolm Eidmans Award is given to a member of police staff who has demonstrated considerable commitment to supporting local Pubwatch schemes. This year the award was give to two individuals.


Lisa Elder, who is employed as a Pubwatch Coordinator in the West Cumbria Area by Cumbria Police and Michelle Williamson, a Police Community Support Officer working in the Alcohol Harm Unit for Durham Police. She has worked closely with the local pubwatch schemes in Consett, Stanley and Chester Le Street.